Dartmouth Economic Research Scholars (DERS)


The Dartmouth Economic Research Scholars Program program (DERS) was established by the Economics Department at Dartmouth in 2013 with the goal of providing additional mentoring and support in economics research to students with strong research potential and high academic standing. Additional advising and out-of-class enrichment activities - dinner discussions, workshops, and peer exchanges - accelerate and enhance the DERS' coursework and enable closer participation with faculty on research projects. Such participation begins with paid assistantships on faculty projects, but often evolves into research collaborations with faculty and independent student projects, including senior theses. The program also aims to prepare interested students for graduate studies in economics and related fields.


There will be a call for applications in January 2022 for the class of 2024. If you have any further questions, please contact DERS Director, Treb Allen. Note that we also consider interested juniors and seniors on a rolling basis.


Class of 2023 Research Scholars

Brendan Balthis, Maria Castro, Brandon Chen, Will Cook-Healy, Catriona Farquharson, Sophia He, Kira Hobson, Kshitij Jain, Shuyi Jin, Dev Kapadia, Helen Liu, Lewis MacMillan, Kuziva Mahwire, Soham Maiti, Elaine Mei, Oliver Milledge, Aditya Ogale, Umut Ozturk, Megan Ren, Jackson Spurling, Genghe Zhu

Class of 2022 Research Scholars

Raymond Chen, Winston Chen, Sachin Ganesh, Pranit Gupta, Archita Harathi, Victoria Hoffner, Jonah Kalsner Kershen, Yangyang Li, Anjuli Lichtenberg, Rohith Mandavilli, Claire McMahon, Ethan Moon, Marc Novicoff, Ranjan Sehgal, Udai Singh, Arjun Srinivasan, Sophie Wang, Emily Wang, Andrew White, Dhaivat Mehta, Shawdi Mehrvarzan, Grayce Gibbs, Kelly Westkaemper, Chris Cardillo, Nina Ham, Ryan Schwartz,

Class of 2021 Research Scholars

Andrew Ahn, Emily Bjorkman, Meriem Fouad, Catalina Garcia Valenzuela, Carl Harris, Yujing (Amy) Hu, Paul Jeon, Jonathan Liu, Benjamin Matejka, Michael McGovern, Michael Nachman, Revant Ranjan, Elise Rust, Elwyn Zhang

Class of 2020 Research Scholars

Sam Barrett, Morgan Baylor, Albert Chen, Elena Doty, Amy Guan, Yifan He, Elizaveta Maslak, Victoria Meyer, Brandon Nye, Scott Okuno, Jeffrey Qiao, Gunnar Smith, Samuel Wilson, Michelle Wu, Michelle Yao, Srihari Yenamandra, Xinchen Zhao.

Class of 2019 Research Scholars

John Fitz Henley (President), Xinyi Zhang (Vice President), Muhammad Ahsan, Peter Choi, Brian Curran, John Davidson, Christine Dong, Hanting Guo, Matthew Hayes, Isabel Hurley, Yihang Liu, Alex Magnson, Brian McGartoll, Siyuan Qin, Amanda Sload, Briana Tang, Carolyn Zhou,

Class of 2018 Research Scholars

Dustin D. Sheehan (President), Hung D. Nguyen (Vice President), Roshni Chandwani, John B. Glance, Nicole D. Graham, Helen M. Gu, Elena N. Horton, Kooshul S. Jhaveri, Jonah H. Kelly, Akhila J. Kovvuri, Itai Taubenfeld, Joshua A. Ufland.

Class of 2017 Research Scholars

Ran Zhuo (President), Myles Wagner (Vice President), Joonghyun Auh, Ekshesh Bekele, Joseph Bernstein, Christopher Brown, Eric Chen, Madeleine Cooney, Natalia Drozdoff, Andrew Field, Sarah Gertler, You-Ree Lee, Kevin Li, Chengyu Liu, Anwita Mahajan, Katherine McAvoy, Vincent Puzak, Daniel Salas, Ryan Schiller, Joshua Tseng-Tham, Timo Vaimann, Cortland Weatherley-White, Alisa White, Zhecheng Yao, Amy Yang, Kevin Zhang.